Degree Programs

Dean Men Honghua is appointed to the Teaching Steering Committee for College Political Science of MOE

The inaugural meeting of the 2018-2022 Teaching Steering Committee for College Political Science of MOE, hosted by the committee and organized by the School of Government and the Institute of State Governance Studies, Peking University, was held in Beijing on December 2, 2018. Professor Men Honghua, Distinguished Professor at Tongji and Dean of the School of Political Science & International Relations, Tongji University, attended the meeting and was appointed to the committee.

This grand gathering in the field of political science was attended by appointed members from more than 40 domestic universities, including Peking University, Renmin University of China, Fudan University, Nankai University, Jilin University, Tsinghua University, Shandong University, Tongji University, Wuhan University, University of Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, and China Foreign Affairs University. The inaugural meeting was moderated by Professor Guan Haiting, Secretary-General of the committee. Professor Yang He, Director of the Office of Social Sciences, Peking University, and Professor Wang Puqu, a leader at the Department of Higher Education of MOE and the committee Chairman, delivered speeches respectively. Representatives of the Department of Higher Education of MOE awarded letters of appointment to 49 new members. After the inauguration ceremony, the participating members held a seminar on the work for the new committee. Chairman Wang Puqu and Secretary-General Professor Guan Haiting respectively made work reports and proposed the next steps. After a group discussion, Shandong University was designated as the organizer of the annual meeting of 2019.

 As the highest-level expert organization appointed and led by the MOE, this committee is dedicated to political science professional education in colleges and universities. It serves as a “staff division”, “advisory team”, “steering group” and “promotion team” for the undergraduate education in political science. It is responsible for the undergraduate curriculum setting, the direction of talent training, the design and compilation of teaching materials, the review and approval of general teaching materials, the talent training quality standard setting, the supervision and evaluation of the undergraduate education quality, among others. Each term is 4 years and the current term is from 2018 to 2022. Dean Men’s appointment reflects that the disciplinary development of political science at Tongji has been highly recognized by the MOE and peer schools. As a milestone, it encouraged Tongji to strengthen the development of first-class discipline of political science.